Three Little Birds is a moving and life affirming six-part drama series exploring untold stories of love, sisterhood, and friendship. Leaving the blue skies of Jamaica to make new lives for themselves in the ‘Mother Country’, three spirited young women face the challenges and daily struggles, with grit and determination and find ways to counter the cold, grey, harsh and painful reception that greets them. They instead find joy, laughter, love and staying power.

Sisters Leah (Rochelle Neil – The Nevers, Guilt) and Chantrelle (Saffron Coomber, Small Axe, C.B. Strike) and their pious friend Hosanna (played by newcomer, Yazmin Belo) are lured to England on the promise of lucrative employment options, ‘streets paved with gold’, by their older brother Aston (Javone Prince – Dodger, Phone Shop). This is a warm-hearted, heartfelt and triumphant celebration of 1950s life and community spirit as lived and experienced by the Jamaican community.

Three Little Birds is created and written by Lenny Henry, and inspired by his mother’s journey from Clarendon, Jamaica to Dudley, West Midlands.

Developed with Russell T Davies who serves as Executive Producer alongside Lenny Henry.


Written by

Lenny Henry

Carol Russell

Avril E. Russell


Directed by

Charles Mcdougall

Yero Timi-Biu

Darcia Martin


Rochelle Neil

Saffron Coomber

Yazmin Belo

Javone Prince

Bobby Gordon,

Leemore Marrett Jr

Lenny Henry

Produced by

Stella Nwimo